Author Topic: Automatic Commands  (Read 3181 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline benjgvps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Automatic Commands
« on: August 07, 2008, 09:35:07 PM »
For my server to start up fully, I need to enter a bunch of commands in the server console for things such as gamemode, disabling noclip and godmode.

There are some folders that I can make a .ini file with the gamemode or map name and if I put commands in that file, they should run... That is my problem, the commands I put in the file were not ran. Are those features disabled by default?

The command I want to run in the maps folder with the filename

Code: [Select]
RP_DownTown_V2.ini is ulx map RP_DownTown_V2 DarkRP
and the commands I need to run in the gamemode file with the filename DarkRP.ini are
Code: [Select]
net_maxfilesize 50
sbox_noclip 0
sbox_plpldamage 0
sbox_godmode 0
rp_showjob 1
rp_toolgun 1
rp_proppaying 1
rp_letters 1
rp_earthquakes 1
rp_maxcps 5
rp_drugpayamount 30
rp_maxdruglabs 4
rp_maxgangsters 5
rp_maxgundealers 2
rp_dm_autokick 0
sbox_maxballoons 0
sbox_maxbuttons 10
rp_alltalk 1
sbox_maxdynamite 0
sbox_maxnpcs 0
sbox_maxhoverballs 0
sbox_maxlamps 0
sbox_maxnpcs 0
sbox_maxprops 100
sbox_maxragdolls 0
sbox_maxthrusters 0
sbox_maxvehicles 1
sbox_maxwheels 4
sbox_maxspawners 0

If you have ANY ideas. Please tell me. I need this server to have as much uptime as possible, I don't want to have to type in commands for a few minutes after getting the server started, plus I need the server to reboot for updates and have everything work when I am gone for say a week.


Offline JamminR

  • Ulysses Team Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8096
  • Karma: 390
  • Sertafide Ulysses Jenius
    • Team Ulysses [ULib/ULX, other fine releases]
Re: Automatic Commands
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 12:02:59 AM »
Make sure your using
<Gmod root>/cfg/gamemodes or
<Gmod root>/cfg/maps to store your INI files.
Do not use <Gmod root>/addons/...

Make sure you're using the gamemode switch in your command line, or cfg/gamemodes/ may not work.
"Though a program be but three lines long, someday it will have to be maintained." -- The Tao of Programming

Offline benjgvps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Automatic Commands
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2008, 08:36:41 PM »
Those folders do not exist, do I have to make them, also, do I still have to change gamemode manually in the console?

Offline JamminR

  • Ulysses Team Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8096
  • Karma: 390
  • Sertafide Ulysses Jenius
    • Team Ulysses [ULib/ULX, other fine releases]
Re: Automatic Commands
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2008, 09:09:15 PM »
Those folders do not exist, do I have to make them,
Yes
also, do I still have to change gamemode manually in the console?
While tinkering with game modes (Suicide Barrels, LONG time ago), I discovered that most things required for game mode detection worked best if you actually STARTED the server using the game mode commands. Though technically it can be used with a map change using "ulx rcon changegamemode <map> <gamemode>, I recommend finding out what variables to pass to the ded. server startup. Something like hlds -game gmod -map blah +gamemode blah +default_gamemode
Sorry, I don't remember the switches I used.

Others milage may vary, and be better.
You may find the INI files work (it's been over a year since I tinkered with the changing modes mid server running)
"Though a program be but three lines long, someday it will have to be maintained." -- The Tao of Programming

Offline Megiddo

  • Ulysses Team Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6213
  • Karma: 394
  • Project Lead
Re: Automatic Commands
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2008, 06:57:21 AM »
ulx map <map> <gamemode> :)
Experiencing God's grace one day at a time.

Offline benjgvps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Automatic Commands
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2008, 08:20:42 AM »
ulx map <map> <gamemode> :)

That is for when your IN the console, what I need to know is the option that you put inside the shortcut.