Author Topic: Cant Type in Chat  (Read 336 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MicrosoftWord

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Cant Type in Chat
« on: September 23, 2017, 02:04:50 PM »
So I help run this TTT server and i wrote up a custom command for people to go to a link, and I want to test the command but there is this reoccuring issue of people not being able to type in chat, I looked in the console log and the client side errors and could find the issue, I wanted to know if any body had this problem before, And just to state something Its not my lua file and I already removed the addon that was giving me that eof error, I also remove another addon that was giving another issue. Is there anyway that i can fix this instead of removing all the addons then putting them back 1 by one?


** Edit **
This is not only just me it is everyone not being able to type.

Offline iViscosity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
  • Karma: 39
    • View Profile
    • iViscosity Gaming
Re: Cant Type in Chat
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 02:45:21 PM »
There may be an add-on somewhere that is overwriting the PlayerSay hook, which may be stopping people from typing. I've never had this issue before but that seems the most likely issue.

Sent using Tapatalk. Owner of iViscosity Gaming.

I'm iViscosity. I like gaming and programming. Need some help? Shoot me a PM or Join my Discord!.
--==[ Links ]==--
Steam
YouTube
Steam Group (feel free to join!)
Forums
Public Discord

Quote from: Steve Jobs
Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven't found it yet, keep looking. Don't settle. As with all matters of the heart, you'll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don't settle.

Offline MicrosoftWord

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cant Type in Chat
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 03:03:53 PM »
Do you know What addon it could be, Ill send my addon list

*** Edit****
Is there anyway i can see the player say hook like where to look for it
« Last Edit: September 23, 2017, 03:20:02 PM by MicrosoftWord »

Offline Buzzkill

  • Respected Community Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: 59
    • View Profile
    • The Hundred Acre Bloodbath
Re: Cant Type in Chat
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2017, 10:57:09 AM »
Assuming you hooked (and didn't override) PlayerSay, are you returning anything? Returning an empty string will suppress chat.

Would be helpful to post your command.

Offline GeorgeHennen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cant Type in Chat
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2017, 09:17:19 PM »
By any chance was this fixed? If so give us the reason why so you could help the community.