Author Topic: Possible to add new columns to an existing SQL table?  (Read 2923 times)

Offline DeimosTK

Possible to add new columns to an existing SQL table?
« on: January 10, 2012, 06:33:33 PM »
I just started learning Lua/SQL a few days ago and pestered Megiddo with some questions, so I thought I'd give him a break and ask for help here.

I'm trying to set up a function that allows me to add new columns to an existing SQL table. Is this possible?

This is the non-functioning code I have thus far. It runs when a player joins the server, but I just realized it would probably be more efficient if it ran only once when the server booted up, so I'll have to modify it to do that.

sv_serverflags.lua
Code: [Select]
-- Create the SQL table if it doesn't exist
if not sql.TableExists( "server_flags" ) then
    sql.Query( "CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS server_flags ( id INTEGER NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY AUTOINCREMENT, player INTEGER NOT NULL, initialflag INTEGER NOT NULL );" )
end

-- Set up the flags
local ServerFlags = {
"testflag1",
"testflag2",
"another_flag"
}

-- Add flags to the player if they don't already have them when they join the server
function FlagSetup( ply )

local uid = ply:UniqueID()
    -- Make sure the player has a row in the table - blatantly plagiarized from UTime
    local row = sql.QueryRow( "SELECT initialflag FROM server_flags WHERE player = " .. uid .. ";" )
    if not row then
        sql.Query( "INSERT into server_flags ( player, initialflag ) VALUES ( " .. uid .. ", " .. 1 .. " );" )
    end

-- Cycle through the list of flags
    for k,v in pairs(ServerFlags) do
        local currentflag = sql.Query("SELECT " .. ServerFlags[k] .. " FROM server_flags WHERE player = " .. uid .. ";")
        -- If the player doesn't have this flag in their row in the SQL db, add it
        if not currentflag then
            -- Add the column
            sql.Query("ALTER TABLE server_flags ADD " .. Flags[k] .. " INTEGER NOT NULL WHERE player = " .. uid .. ";")