Author Topic: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]  (Read 12819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Belly136

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: -2
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2016, 12:03:40 PM »
Same problem here. Are you going to fix this ?

Offline Beast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 8
    • My Gaming Community
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2016, 10:35:57 AM »
I need more details as to what your problem is.

What gamemode are you running?

Offline Buzzkill

  • Respected Community Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: 59
    • The Hundred Acre Bloodbath
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2016, 05:44:11 AM »
Code: [Select]
-- Start timer
+ RunConsoleCommand( "bot" )

There are a number of ways to get timers to start running on startup.  Adding a bot to someone's server probably isn't the best way, as you're now extending way beyond the purpose of the addon  (that is -- people might get rightfully annoyed that an addon designed to track user time is suddenly spawning bots).

Just my $.02


Code: [Select]
RunConsoleCommand( "sv_password", math.random( 1, 999999 ) ) -- This prevents people from joining and tampering with data
RunConsoleCommand( "hostname", "[MAINTENANCE] " .. GetHostName() )


Whoa.  Saw this after I commented above.  This is a little dangerous.  What if someone who doesn't appreciate what's going on runs this and it dies in the middle?  You now have a server that is unexpectedly password protected until someone either restarts the server or clears the password.  Fairly trivial for most - but certainly not for everyone.

At least give people the option for this kind of extra functionality and make the default off.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2016, 09:53:02 AM by Buzzkill »

Offline Belly136

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: -2
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2016, 12:56:28 AM »
I need more details as to what your problem is.

What gamemode are you running?

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=135509255

Offline Beast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 8
    • My Gaming Community
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2016, 12:27:47 AM »
Code: [Select]
-- Start timer
+ RunConsoleCommand( "bot" )

There are a number of ways to get timers to start running on startup.  Adding a bot to someone's server probably isn't the best way, as you're now extending way beyond the purpose of the addon  (that is -- people might get rightfully annoyed that an addon designed to track user time is suddenly spawning bots).

Just my $.02


Code: [Select]
RunConsoleCommand( "sv_password", math.random( 1, 999999 ) ) -- This prevents people from joining and tampering with data
RunConsoleCommand( "hostname", "[MAINTENANCE] " .. GetHostName() )


Whoa.  Saw this after I commented above.  This is a little dangerous.  What if someone who doesn't appreciate what's going on runs this and it dies in the middle?  You now have a server that is unexpectedly password protected until someone either restarts the server or clears the password.  Fairly trivial for most - but certainly not for everyone.

At least give people the option for this kind of extra functionality and make the default off.

If you read the readme it specifies that it's going to do all of that.  I'm just having it do that so I don't have people getting annoyed by data becoming corrupt and complaining about it.
As for the bot, I did that as a hacky quick method to start tick in the case that you run this addon upon server start.  If you'd looked through carefully, that's only on the code to upload data to the MySQL database, it's not used in any other circumstances.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2016, 12:34:03 AM by Beast »

Offline Belly136

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: -2
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2016, 01:52:55 AM »
I tested the script on most gamemodes and got the same error.

Offline Buzzkill

  • Respected Community Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: 59
    • The Hundred Acre Bloodbath
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2016, 05:09:52 AM »
If you read the readme

I assume you mean the OP, and not the actual readme (your readme.md on github), since that's only a few bullets and mentions nothing about the lockdown.  I do see your reference to it in the OP now, but I still think it should be off by default.  Just my $.02.

Offline JamminR

  • Ulysses Team Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7987
  • Karma: 374
  • Sertafide Ulysses Jenius
    • Team Ulysses [ULib/ULX, other fine releases]
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2016, 05:31:44 AM »
This addon hides it's readme.txt pretty deep into the folder structure.
https://github.com/xbeastguyx/Utime-Ultimate/blob/master/lua/readme.txt

The price one pays for pursuing any profession or calling is an intimate knowledge of its ugly side. - James Baldwin

Offline Buzzkill

  • Respected Community Member
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 177
  • Karma: 59
    • The Hundred Acre Bloodbath
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2016, 01:53:19 PM »
Ah.  Silly me.  I should have grep'd the project.   :)

Offline Beast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 8
    • My Gaming Community
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2016, 07:56:10 PM »
Pushed an update that should fix the errors.  Me being the idiot I am, I left the github version oudated, while I used the updated version myself.

Offline Beast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 8
    • My Gaming Community
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2016, 04:59:25 AM »
Just a warning for everyone having issues, I'll be rewriting this soon.  The rewrite should fix all issues previously found.

Offline Marz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #26 on: August 24, 2016, 05:33:26 AM »
Just a warning for everyone having issues, I'll be rewriting this soon.  The rewrite should fix all issues previously found.
\

I love you for keeping this alive and still wanting to work on it.

Offline TheHeroBilly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #27 on: August 29, 2016, 03:51:39 PM »
The command "UploadUtime" doesn't exist. Or at least so says console and Rcon. any ideas?

Offline Marz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #28 on: August 29, 2016, 03:54:17 PM »
The command "UploadUtime" doesn't exist. Or at least so says console and Rcon. any ideas?

Are you 100% sure you're doing it through Rcon since it is a server side command?

Offline TheHeroBilly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Utime - Ultimate Edition [Who needs other versions now?]
« Reply #29 on: August 29, 2016, 04:06:17 PM »
Yes I am. the full command I put is "rcon UploadUtime" I've also tried running it from the actual server console. and not the ingame console.