ULX

Author Topic: Force download items and have them work...  (Read 7147 times)

Offline Chiller252

• On a Journey to Combine Technology and Design
    • Personal Website
Force download items and have them work...
« on: December 22, 2012, 01:45:41 PM »
Hey, I'm a noob to gmod severs and a couple nights ago i started my first one ever. I host it from my own computer with perfect connection :D (my friend from California gets 50 ping from me in Colorado). ALL I want, is to get 4 Player models to download to all clients when they join. I do NOT want a dumb Fast Download Domain. But if I have to I guess I could... I am trying to use Downloads.txt in ULX and i have been told that it is working, downloading the models to all clients. But i have been told i need code to make them work...
I have NO clue what this code is. I need help there.

Offline JamminR

• Ulysses Team Member
  • Sertafide Ulysses Jenius
    • Team Ulysses [ULib/ULX, other fine releases]
Re: Force download items and have them work...
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2012, 02:47:46 PM »
Until someone with more time can provide you with whatever code is necessary to have it added to the Gmod gui automatically, there is a console command called "setmodel" you may wish to look for more on Google.
I forget it's exact use, and my 20 second search of Google which led me to the source dev wiki led it's link to a 'no wiki content, please create' page.
I remember using the command years ago for some extra models we had on the Ulysses gmod server, and after using setmodel, we had to respawn.
I don't remember if it allowed non-admins or non-svcheat server clients to use the command.

While looking for code examples, I did see some indications that models that were intended as ragdolls will most likely not work as players.
That, and some older player models meant for older gmod versions may not work in the new Gmod.
Seems Garry enhanced player models specifically, leaving NPC/ragdoll models compatible with TF2.