ULX

Author Topic: Ban Menu revision request.  (Read 14101 times)

Offline mNote

Ban Menu revision request.
« on: March 25, 2010, 07:20:07 PM »
Hey there, ULX,

I am mNote and I am a user of the ULX/ULib admin tool and I would like to make a request for the ban menu.

I am an administrator of a pretty large community that have, over the years, gathered over 4,000 steam ids onto our banned_users.cfg file. Now, I know that ULX picks out information from this file because I have done several testings of importing this list and exporting it to the point where I know that ULX will fail to work if it has to read and format a very large file.

Personally, I am asking for a revised ban menu. A ban menu that stores only temporary bans, up to a maximum of maybe 6 digits in minutes (999,999) and no more. It shouldn't also grab the banned_user.cfg list because when that list has 4,000 steam ids in it, ULX will take a VERY long time loading and ULX will fail to work altogether.

I like the ban menu the way it is, but because it picks out perma bans from my banned_user.cfg list, I have to resort to banning by IP and starting the ban list anew.

If you guys can do this, I will greatly appreciate it. I'm actually in the process of finding a better ban management than ULX but I like ULX's interface so much that I'd rather start by asking here.

Please and thank you.

PS: You can find the community I belong to at SteamGamers.com.

Offline Stickly Man!

• Ulysses Team Member
  • What even IS software anymore?
    • XGUI
Re: Ban Menu revision request.
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 07:47:26 PM »
Is it ULX that breaks altogether? Or just ULX's banmenu?

Have you tried using XGUI yet? I have a feeling that your banlist might be a bit too large to handle also (I've been meaning to find someone with a large banlist to do some testing).